My first large quilt

Quilt 1

I’ve mentioned before that I was working on a double-bed sized quilt using this tutorial. It took me a while (since February in fact) but I finally finished it just in time for Christmas.

Quilt 2

I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  It’s not perfect but good enough and I learnt so much while making it.  It wasn’t too difficult to piece together – but the sheer amount of fabric made it a challenge to work with.  I’m really glad I discovered 505 spray as it makes basting the quilt layers together so much easier.

quilt 3

I used 2 jelly rolls from the Moda ‘Together’ range for the postage stamps, matching fabric from the same range for the borders and binding, Hobbs polydown batting and a wide ‘teastain’ fabric for the backing.

quilt 4

I gave this quilt to my in laws as a Christmas present.  I hope they liked it as much as I enjoyed making it.

3 thoughts on “My first large quilt

    • Thanks so much – not all the seams match up that well but it’s hard to tell from a distance. I’ve made quite a few smaller quilts but this was a real challenge. I learned so much making it – the next one will be better, if I ever find the time. Yours is really lovely too – so bright and light, well done!

Leave a Reply

